western isles (hebrides)
The Hebrides are divided into 2 groups – the Inner Hebrides are those islands closest to the mainlaind and include Skye, Islay, Jura, Mull, Raasay, Staffa and the Small Isles. The Outer Hebridean islands, of which there are more than 100, include Harris, Lewis, North and South Uist, Benbecula, Berneray and St Kilda.
To access the islands, with the exception of Skye, which is linked to the mainland by a bridge, ferries are the mode of transport, mainly operated by Calmac. Be prepared for the invasion of midges between May and September.

By no means the highlight of the island, the capital Portree has a harbour with pretty, multi-coloured houses and a choice of accommodation and places to eat and drink. For an unforgettable dining experience, head to The Three Chimneys Restaurant in Colbost, regarded as one of the best restaurants in the U.K. Take up a walk up to The Old Man of Storr at Trotternish for some incredible views. Don’t miss a tour of Dunvegan Castle, ancestral home of the Chiefs of Clan McCleod for 800 years. At the far North-Westerly point of the island, near Glendale, take a walk down to the lighthouse at Neist Point.  You can tour the Talisker Whisky distillery at Carbost with a tasting afterwards in the visitor centre. For an entertaining Sunday afternoon, visit the Edinbane Inn for live traditional music.